a month ago
Tripura braces for 1-phase LS Poll; Poll material dispersed amid tight security

With the state of Tripura along with the rest of the parts of the country braces for the first phase of the Lok Sabha election, the polling personnel of the West Tripura Parliamentary Constituency on Thursday dispersed with the EVMs, VVPATs and polling materials amid tight security cover.

The by-election to the 7-Ramnagar assembly constituency and the election to the West Tripura parliamentary constituency will be held on April 19.

More than 10,000 polling personnel, accompanied by police personnel, have begun transporting EVMs and other polling materials from Agartala Umakanta Academy to their assigned polling stations.

The Chief Electoral Officer of the state election commission Puneet Agarwal accompanied by the Returning Officer of the West Tripura district Dr Vishal Kumar visited the dispersal centre on Thursday morning and interacted with the polling personnel prior to the movement.

Speaking to media persons the CEO Puneet Agarwal and DM (west) Vishal Kumar said that the polling will commence from 7-00 AM and end at 4-00 in the afternoon in all the 793 polling stations in the constituency including 58 women polling stations and 7 meant for physically handicapped.

A total of 9 candidates are in fray in the West Tripura Lok Sabha constituency including but the main contest will remain confined between BJP candidate Biplab Kumar Deb and Congress candidate of the I.N.D.I.A bloc Asish Kumar Saha.

Back to News
Back to Top